Settling with Sea Serpents v 1 is Complete!

Settling with Sea Serpents Banner copy

When I finished v 1 of The Gods’ Blessings in late 2012, I started writing v 0 of “Settling with Sea Serpents”, as a prequel short story. I made it to the climax, and then floundered. The main character’s actions suddenly seemed unlikable, and I felt that going over events that were already mentioned in The Gods’ Blessings just sucked all the tension out. Plus, the idea for Lightning Born struck me and started demanding that I write it. So I decided to abandon the prequel for the new novel.

Then as I started the rewrite for The Gods’ Blessings a couple months ago, it suddenly hit me how I could fix the climax in “Settling with Sea Serpents.” So I took a break to write it. I’m overall pleased with it, though I can already tell it has some rough edges to smooth out. Still, the fact that it is an official novelette gives me hope that it could do well in Writers of the Future. Now to see what the writing group thinks.

  • Started April 15, 2014
  • Finished May 5, 2014
  • 9,337 words long
  • 21 pages
  • 143% the size of v 0 (which was unfinished)
About Annaliese

Author of the fantasy short stories "Infant Insomnia" and "Curelom Riders." Also a mother of three, one of which has outgrown allergies to gluten, and dairy, though he still reacts to nuts.
This entry was posted in Writing Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

