Sarimanok Feather v 2 is Complete!

Sarimanok Feather banner

To all of you who can follow Heinlein’s rules of writing, specifically rule 3: “You Must Refrain From Rewriting, Except to Editorial Order” – I hate you. In college, I discovered that it takes me at least 3 drafts just to figure out what the heck I’m trying to say. Sure, I could get in the top 10% easy enough, but to get published, I need to be in the top 1%, and I can only get there by putting in the time to figure out how to make my writing sparkle.

Well, now that I’ve written 3 drafts of Sarimanok Feather, I think I’ve figured out what I’ve been trying to do with this story. I still don’t think it has that full sparkle to put it in the top 1% though, so I plan on doing at least one more draft. And then, we’ll see where it ends up.

  • Started: May 12, 2014
  • Finished: May 16, 2014
  • 3,078 words
  • 100% the size of v 1
  • 1 large scene cut from v 1
  • 2 short scenes added
About Annaliese

Author of the fantasy short stories "Infant Insomnia" and "Curelom Riders." Also a mother of three, one of which has outgrown allergies to gluten, and dairy, though he still reacts to nuts.
This entry was posted in Writing Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

