“Curelom Riders” and the 2014 Mormon Lit Blitz

Curelom Riders Cover copyLast month, I saw the call for submissions to the 2014 Mormon Lit Blitz – a contest for flash-fiction, poetry, and other short-short works that resonate with an LDS audience. At first, I didn’t think I could come up with a story. When fantasy and LDS fiction mix, its usually urban or portal fantasy, which doesn’t appeal to me as a writer. But as I kept seeing people promoting the contest, I realized that if Napoleon could ride a dragon in the Temeraire books, then so could Brigham Young, or people in the Book of Mormon. And since we don’t know what cureloms are anyway, why not describe them as dragons?

So I entered, and “Curelom Riders” is a finalist! I am so thrilled! This means it will be published at Mormon Artist on June 19. After all 12 finalists have been published, the winner of the contest will be determined by vote. Please only vote for “Curelom Riders” if you honestly think it deserves the place.

On June 19, I will also post a brief author’s commentary on “Curelom Riders.” After the contest is over, I will also publish the story on this site, as well as a free e-book on Nook, iBooks, and eventually Kindle (among other places). The cover will be the above image. While it is plain, I think it will work. I look forward to sharing this fun story with you!

About Annaliese

Author of the fantasy short stories "Infant Insomnia" and "Curelom Riders." Also a mother of three, one of which has outgrown allergies to gluten, and dairy, though he still reacts to nuts.
This entry was posted in Announcement, Cover Reveal, Writing Progress. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Curelom Riders” and the 2014 Mormon Lit Blitz

  1. Merrijane says:

    Sounds intriguing! I’m looking forward to reading it–and good luck in the voting.

Leave a Reply

